la cocotte staub

Just bought myself this beautiful little baby for a once in a lifetime deal at Williams-Sonoma:

Image

It was only proper that I make a delicious meal that I’ve always wanted to make but never could because I never had a stove and oven safe piece of kitchen equipment. And by always I mean since I saw the recipe on the cover of this month’s Cooking Light that I bought last week!

Meyer Lemon Chicken:

  • 2 skin-on, bone-in chicken breast halves, halved crosswise
  • 2 skin-on, bone-in chicken thighs (turns out my 4 qt pot wasn’t quite big enough for all that chicken so I saved my thighs for my next crockpot recipe)
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt, divided
  • 3/4 teaspoon black pepper, divided
  • Cooking spray
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 1 pound small red potatoes, quartered
  • 1 Meyer lemon, cut into 1/4-inch-thick slices and seeded (My grocery store didn’t have Meyer lemons, which probably should make or break the recipe, but I still thought it was delicious!)
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped shallots
  • 4 garlic cloves, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 1/2 teaspoon chopped fresh thyme leaves
  • 1 cup unsalted chicken stock (such as Swanson), divided
  • 1 teaspoon cornstarch
  • 2 ounces pitted Castelvetrano olives (I just used any italian whole pitted olives available)
  • 2 tablespoons fresh Meyer lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 tablespoon fresh parsley leaves

DSCN4931

My favorite lesson from college was getting all my things in place before I start…aka “mise en place”. I have to admit, I don’t always do it. But when I do, I’m always soooo glad I did. So first I measured everything out (and chopped and diced and grated….)

DSCN4926 DSCN4920 DSCN4918 DSCN4911

Then I started cookin’! Preheat your oven to 400° . Heat a large ovenproof skillet over medium-high heat. Sprinkle chicken with 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1/2 teaspoon pepper; coat with cooking spray. Add chicken to pan, skin side down; cook 6 minutes or until skin is golden brown and crisp. While you’re waitin’ for that chicken to brown and crisp, pour yourself a glass of your dry white. ESPECIALLY if you already set up your mise en place….you deserve that wine, friend.

DSCN4936

DSCN4943 DSCN4944

Turn chicken over. Place pan in oven. Bake at 400° for 12 minutes or until a thermometer inserted in thickest portion of chicken registers 165°. i think I left mine in for closer to 15 just to be sure and it was still the perfect amount of moist! (My least and most favorite part of this recipe s that you don’t really need an oven proof skillet to make it. That’s awesome because  can tell all my friends about this dish and tell them to just cook the chicken in a casserole dish in the oven while you continue to prep the potatoes in the pan you used to sear the chicken! But not so awesome because I wanted my first meal in my beautiful new piece of kitchen to be a super special recipe that I wouldn’t have been able to make  without it 😉 In fact, you may save yourself a solid 20 minuets by putting the chicken in the oven while you start the following steps on the stove….

Remove chicken from pan; keep warm. Discard pan drippings (do not wipe pan clean). Add 1 tablespoon oil to pan; swirl to coat. Add potatoes to pan; sprinkle with 1/4 teaspoon salt.


DSCN4947

Cook potatoes 3 minutes on each side or until browned. Remove potatoes from pan.Add lemon slices to pan; cook 1 minute on each side or until browned. Remove lemon from pan.

DSCN4948 DSCN4952 DSCN4951

Add remaining 1 tablespoon oil to pan; swirl to coat. Add shallots and garlic; sauté 2 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add wine and chopped fresh thyme; cook 1 minute or until liquid almost evaporates, scraping pan to loosen browned bits. MMMM how I wish you could SMELL that deglazing.

DSCN4955Return potatoes and lemon slices to pan. Add 2/3 cup stock, remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt, and remaining 1/4 teaspoon pepper; cook 2 minutes or until potatoes are tender. Combine remaining 1/3 cup stock and cornstarch, stirring with a whisk. Add cornstarch mixture and olives to pan; bring to a boil.

DSCN4956

DSCN4960

Cook 1 minute, stirring occasionally. Stir in lemon juice and butter, stirring until butter melts. Return chicken to pan, turning to coat; sprinkle with parsley (I left the parsley out because I still live like a college student and didn’t want to spend the money on it…it was still tasty!)

DSCN4966 DSCN4967 DSCN4968 DSCN4970 DSCN4974

It looks almost JUST like the magazine…RIGHT?!? (Just let me think that, friends) Anyway, I just finished the leftovers as I write this and it may have even gotten better with time! More Cooking Light recipes to come! Especially with chicken 🙂

Have a happy weekend to all!

Besos,

KEK

Comment on my ramblings

