My first crockpot experiment…B+ at best

If you knew me before I met my actual boyfriend, you would know that I considered Jack Daniels to be my boyfriend. So when I was looking for a cheap and easy recipe to try out in my new crockpot, I chose the Jack & Coke pot roast recipe (since I obviously had jack on hand). It turned out alright, could have been more flavorful and moist. But it was pretty good for the first recipe I tried! The boyfriend didn’t mind it either (the real one).

Ingredients

  • 2-3 pound chuck roast – beef, venison, antelope, elk – whatever you’ve got
  • 1 package onion soup mix
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 pint canned carrots
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 6 ounces Coke – no diet stuff here
  • 1/4 cup Jack Daniels or other Whiskey or Bourbon

Instructions

  1. Place crockpot liner in crockpot
  2. Add water and 1 Tablespoon of onion soup mix
  3. Place half of the onions in crockpot
  4. Add garlic
  5. Salt and pepper all sides of the roast and place in crock pot
  6. Add carrots and the rest of the onions
  7. Pour remaining onion soup mix over roast
  8. Add Coke and Jack Daniels
  9. Cover and cook on low 7-8 hours

ImageImage

ImageImageImageImage

ImageImageImageImageImage

Tips for next time: Brown that chuck before putting it in the crockpot! I also may have added an extra 1/4th of jack (and I still wished I’d put a little more in). The mashed potato addition was also key! It added a lot to the dish (as did the Jack&coke cocktails we made with the extra coke!!)

Stay tuned for better crockpot recipes! For now, learn from my mistakes…and let me know if you’ve tried any great crockpot recipes recently!

Besitos,
KEK

Comment on my ramblings

